The Women's Basketball Hall of Fame today (November 11) announced its 12 finalists in consideration for the 24th WBHOF induction class during halftime of the South Carolina vs. Maryland women’s basketball game on ESPN2 (6 p.m. ET). The 12 finalists for the Class of 2023 are: Brian Agler (Coach), Cathy Boswell (Veteran Player), Donna Lopiano (Contributor), Lisa Mattingly (Official), Paula McGhee (Player), Taj McWilliams-Franklin (Player), Carolyn Peck (Coach), Sue Phillips (Coach), Crystal Robison (Player), Saudia Roundtree (Player), Mary “Roonie” Scovel (Coach) and Lindsay Whalen (Player). 

The Class of 2023 will be selected from the 12 finalists and announced Sunday, November 27, at halftime of ABC’s broadcast of the Phil Knight invitational championship game (1 p.m. ET). Below is the timeline for the Class of 2023 and two other WBHOF honors: the 2023 For the Love of the Game award and the 2023 Trailblazers of the Game award:

·    November 11, 2022: Announce 12 finalists for WBHOF Class of 2023 during the South Carolina vs Maryland game on ESPN2.

·    November 27, 2022: Announce Class of 2023 inductees and 2023 recipients of For the Love of the Game award and the Trailblazers of the Game award at halftime of ABC’s broadcast of the Phil Knight invitational championship game (1 p.m. ET). Tickets for the April 29, 2023 WBHOF induction ceremony in Knoxville, Tenn., go on sale at

·    March/April 2023: Introduce the induction class of 2023, the 2023 For the Love of the Game award recipient and the 2023 Trailblazers of the Game award recipient at media events conducted during the 2023 NCAA Women's Final Four and Women's Basketball Coaches Association National Convention (Dallas, Texas).

·    April 29, 2023: Induction ceremony in Knoxville, Tenn., for WBHOF induction class of 2023 and recognition of the 2023 For the Love the Game award recipient and the Trailblazers of the Game award recipient. 

Tickets for the 2023 Induction Ceremony go on sale immediately following the November 27 announcement on ABC. For more information regarding tickets and ticket packages, please visit The Class of 2023 marks the 24th group of inductees to be honored by the Women's Basketball Hall of Fame, which held its grand opening and inaugural induction in 1999. The Women's Basketball Hall of Fame currently has 181 Hall of Fame inductees.

The Women's Basketball Hall of Fame Board of Directors serves as the selection committee in determining the individuals to be inducted each year. Voting is based on minimum candidate requirements, which include a record of performance, national or international recognition, and contributions to the game of women's basketball.

Women's Basketball Hall of Fame - Class of 2023 Finalists

NOTE: The following bio capsules highlight a few major accomplishments and not the comprehensive contributions these individuals have made to women's basketball.


·    Winningest professional women’s basketball coach (308-220) … won four world titles as head coach of the WNBA Los Angeles Sparks (2016) and Seattle Storm (2010) as well as the ABL’s Columbus Quest (1998, 1997)

·     College coaching at Northeastern Oklahoma A&M, the University of Missouri-Kansas City and Kansas State University…has an overall collegiate coaching record of 248-135

·     Member of Ohio Basketball Hall of Fame (2014), Wittenberg Hall of Fame (1995), University of Missouri-Kansas City Hall of Fame (2013) and the Northeastern Oklahoma A&M College Hall of Fame (2014)

CATHY BOSWELL (Veteran Player)

·      Member of Team USA gold medalists at the 1984 Olympic Games in Los Angeles

·      Two-time Women’s Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA) Kodak All-American and two-time Wade Trophy finalist

·     Career standout at Illinois State University (1980-1983) finishing with 2,005 points and 1,054 rebounds

DONNA LOPIANO (Contributor)

·    Chief Executive Officer of the Women's Sports Foundation from 1992 to 2007…member of Fox Sports' "The 10 Most Powerful Women in Sports" list

·    Director of Women's Athletics at The University of Texas from 1975-92…women’s teams won 18 national championships in six different sports, including 1985-86 first undefeated NCAA champion (34-0) in women’s basketball…school hosted the first sold-out NCAA women’s Final Four in 1987

·    Member of Texas and Connecticut Women’s Halls of Fame


·    33-year official…officiated in 10 NCAA Women's Final Four championship games (2001-2007, 2009, 2011, 2014) and seven semifinals (1999, 2000, 2010, 2012, 2015, 2016, 2018)

·    Officiated the WNBA League Championship Series from 2000-07 and the WNBA League Finals from 2002-06

·    Recipient of the 2002 Naismith Award as Outstanding Official


·    Head coach at Purdue University (1997-99), the Orlando Miracle (1999-01), and the University of Florida (2002-07)

·     Purdue’s 1999 NCAA national championship still is the only Big Ten team to win a title in the sport

·     Named 1998-99 USBWA Coach of the Year, WBCA Coach of the Year, AP College Basketball Coach of the Year and the Naismith College Coach of the Year


·    Won two consecutive gold medals with Team USA (2013, 2014) …added a gold medal as head coach of the 2021 U16 FIBA Americas Championship team

·    27 years as Head Coach of Archbishop Mitty High school (692-128) … guided squads to 62 titles (22 leagues, 21 CCS, 12 NorCal, 6 states, 1 national)

·     2018 Naismith Coach of the Year and 2018 WBCA Coach of the Year


·     Six-time WNBA All-Star (2003, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2009, 2011) and voted to the list of WNBA Top 15 Players of All Time in 2011

·    Played for Colorado State (1995-1999), finishing her career as the program’s all-time leading scorer (2,740 points)

·     Named 2015 ESPNW Woman of the Year


·    Kilgore Junior College (1992-1994) stand-out…led KJC to 1993 NJCAA national championship…named to 1993-94 WBCA Junior College All-America Team and was 1993-94 WBCA Junior College National Player of the Year after averaging 26.2 points per game

·    Two-time first-team All-SEC honoree…member of 1995-96 WBCA Division I All-America Team…led University of Georgia to 1995-96 SEC championship and consecutive NCAA Final Four appearances

·      Named WBCA (NCAA Division I), Naismith, U.S. Basketball Writers Association, UPI, Basketball Times and the ESPYs 1995-96 National Player of the Year…only one of two to be honored by the WBCA as national player of the year at both Junior College and NCAA Division I level


·     Head Coach at Gulf Coast State College (1996-2012) and again from 2014-present…has a record of 622-87 (.877)

·    Teams won 90 straight games between 2000-04 seasons…led squads to six NJCAA national championships (2003, 2008, 2010, 2016, 2017, 2019), 18 conference championships and 13 regional titles

·    Six-time NJCAA National Coach of the Year (2003, 2008, 2010, 2016, 2017, 2019), 2019 Spalding Coach of the Year and 2018 U.S. Marine Corps/WBCA Two-Year College Coach of the Year


·     In her four years, Minnesota compiled an 80-43 (.650) record, including 72-23 (.758) in her final three seasons (2002, 2003, 2004) … one of only three sophomores in conference history to earn Big Ten Player of the Year honors (2002)

·    Three-time WNBA world championship team member (2011, 2013, 2015) …All-WNBA First Team in 2008, 2011, and 2013…four-time WNBA All-Star (2006, 2011, 2013, 2014)

·     Two-time Team USA gold medalist in 2012, and 2016 Olympic Games… member of Team USA 2010 and 2014 FIBA World Champions…led Team USA to gold medals at the 2003 FIBA World Championship for Young Women (U21) and 2002 FIBA World Championship for Young Women Qualifying Tournament (U20)