Reservation Hotline: 800 256 4024
Reservation Hotline: 800 256 4024

Author Nathaniel Philbrick

601 S. Gay Street | Knoxville, TN 37902
Knoxville, TN 37902
(865) 215-8775

Author Nathaniel Philbrick Visits Knoxville in May

Nathaniel Philbrick, a master of narrative nonfiction, has a new take on the quarrelsome, divided America of George Washington and Benedict Arnold. In May, he’s coming to Knoxville to talk about it!

Philbrick will speak about his book, Valiant Ambition: George Washington, Benedict Arnold, and the Fate of the American Revolution, at 7 p.m. in the East Tennessee History Center on May 16. The event is free. Because seating is limited, the public is asked to register for the event at

In Valiant Ambition, Philbrick goes beyond well-known facts to suggest a startling, broader truth: that Arnold’s treachery may actually have saved the nation by uniting Americans behind Washington’s leadership. The paperback edition of the book will be released on May 9.

Philbrick won the National Book Award in 2000 for In the Heart of the Sea, about an 1820 whaleship rammed and sunk by an angry sperm whale. That book was adapted into a major motion picture starring Chris Hemsworth. With Valiant Ambition, Philbrick demonstrates again his talent for combining deep research with powerful storytelling.

This special author event is sponsored by Friends of the Knox County Public Library, Union Ave Books, the Knox County Public Library and the East Tennessee Historical Society.

Nathaniel Philbrick is the author of several nonfiction narratives including:
Bunker Hill: A City, A Siege, A Revolution (2013)
The Last Stand: Custer, Sitting Bull, and the Battle of the Little Bighorn (2010) (the basis for forthcoming television series)
Mayflower: A Story of Courage, Community, and War (2006)
In the Heart of the Sea: The Tragedy of the Whaleship Essex (2000) (the basis for the 2016 film)

  • May 16, 2017
  • Location: 601 S. Gay Street, East Tennessee History Center, TN
  • Phone: (865) 215-8775
  • Time: 07:00 PM-8:30 PM
  • Price: Free to the public
Author Nathaniel Philbrick