Experience what life was like in East Tennessee over 200 years ago at James White’s Fort. The historic fort was established in 1786 by Revolutionary War hero, James White, who helped establish the city of Knoxville, starting with his two story log cabin. Did you know that Knoxville was originally called Whitesville?
However, the modest James White wanted to honor Secretary of War, Henry Knox, therefore the name became Knoxville!
James White’s Fort was restored and opened to the public in 1970 with 10,000 visitors per year experiencing the frontier lifestyle through hands-on interpretation of open hearth cooking, blacksmithing, and spinning. Special events are held throughout the year including historical homes bus tours, Statehood/Preservation Day, Cherokee Heritage Day, Sons of the American Revolution Celebration, Ghost tours, and James White’s Fort Christmas Open House.
All friends and family are welcome to take a trip into the past to experience the life of a true frontiersman and learn about the history of Knoxville and our local legend, James White.
James White’s Fort is located at 205 East Hill Avenue, Knoxville, Tenn. For more information on hours of operation, special events, please visit http://www.jameswhitesfort.org/
or call (865) 525-6514.