The Meeting Professionals International Tennessee Chapter (MPI:TN) held its annual Circle of Excellence Awards Gala and Silent Auction on Thursday, May 7, at the Hutton Hotel. The event celebrated chapter achievements and recognized members for outstanding contributions as well as raising money for the scholarships. The evening began with a silent auction earning over $20,000 for the chapter. During dinner the following awards were presented:

Meeting Planner of the Year – Kristen Richardson, EMDEON

Meeting Supplier of the Year – Rusty Chester, OnStage

Chapter Leader of the Year – Colleen Cussick, Brantley Sound

Rising Star – Erika Biddix, CMP, MAC Meetings & Events

Pillar Award –

  • East Region- Angie Campbell, Holiday Inn Cedar Bluff Central Region EMDEON
  • West Region- Antwone Stigall, New Memphis Institute

President’s Awards –

  • Kate Shattuck, CMP, Integrated Solutions & Services
  • Tracy Schenk, Schenk Photography
  • Blair Owen, Big Cypress Lodge

Beth Calveard Volunteer Spirit Award – Julie Woodruff-Hurst, CMP, Liberty Party Rentals

“Thank you and congratulations to all of the Circle of Excellence winners. Your contributions to the chapter are invaluable. And thank you to the MPI:TN membership as a whole for making 2014-2015 a success.” Tammy Gilbert Cardona, MPI:TN President 2014-2015.

MPI:TN currently ranks 4th in the world in member satisfaction. Its 300+ members represent over $300 million in buying power within the meetings industry. The chapter was established in 1980 to provide continuing education, professional development and business growth opportunities to meeting professionals in the state of Tennessee. The international organization has more than 20,000 members in 70 chapters and clubs and is the global authority and resource for the $102.3 billion meetings and events industry.